Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Home > Uncategorized > NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, also branded and known as NCAA March Madness, is a single-elimination tournament played each spring in the United States, currently featuring 64 college basketball teams from the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), to ascertain the national championship. The tournament Was Made in 1939 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches, and was the Notion of Ohio State coach Harold Olsen. [1] Played mostly during March, it’s turned into one of the most famous annual sporting events in the United States. [citation ]
The championship teams include winners out of 32 Division I conferences (that receive automatic bids), and 36 teams that are awarded at-large berths. These”at-large” teams have been chosen by an NCAA selection committee, then announced in a nationally televised event on the Sunday preceding the”First Four” play-in games, now held in Dayton, Ohio, and dubbed Choice Sunday. Even the 68 teams are divided into four regions and organized to some single-elimination”bracket”, which pre-determines, when a team wins a game, which team it will face next. Each team is”seeded”, or rated, within its area from 1 to 16. The championship happens during the course of three weekends. Teams, seeded by position, proceed through a single-game elimination bracket beginning with a”first four” consisting of 8 low-seeded teams playing 4 games to get a position in the initial round the Tuesday and Wednesday prior to the first round starts, a primary round comprising 64 teams playing in 32 games within the span of a week, the”Sweet Sixteen” and”Elite Eight” rounds another week and weekend, respectively– and — to the final weekend of the tournament — that the”Final Four” round. The Final Four is usually played during the weekend of April. These four groups, one from each area (East, South, Midwest, and West), compete in a preselected place for the national championship.
The tournament has been at least partially televised since 1969. [2] Currentlythe matches are broadcast by CBS, TBS, TNT, and truTV beneath the trade-name NCAA March Madness. Since 2011, all games are available for seeing and globally. As television coverage has grown, so too has the tournament’s popularity. At present, millions of Americans fill out a bracket,[3] trying to properly predict the outcome of 63 games of the championship (not including the First Four matches ).
With 11 titles, UCLA has the listing for the many NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 titles. The University of Kentucky (UK) is next, with eight national titles. The University of North Carolina is third and Duke University and Indiana University are tied for fourth with five national titles. The University of Connecticut is with four titles. The University of Kansas (KU) & Villanova are tied for 7th with three national titles. Since 1985, once the tournament expanded to 64 teams, Duke has won five championships; North Carolina and UConn have won four; Kentucky & Villanova have three; Kansas & Florida have two; and Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Louisville[a], Syracuse, UCLA, UNLV, and Virginia have you.

Read more: sportsweed.net

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)